Young brother and sister playing in the waters of a beachfront

Travelling With Allergies

Whether you’re road tripping to Grandma’s house or going on that dream beach vacation, check out these simple tips to help you minimize allergy symptoms during your trip.

Tips for Travelling with Allergies

Think About Your Destination

Being near a large body of water, such as an ocean, may help reduce your exposure to pollen, depending on the types of trees and grasses around. For beach vacations, pick a location that isn’t near grasses and trees that are heavy pollen producers, like ragweed, Bermuda grass or oak trees.

Cruises can also be a good choice for people with seasonal allergies. Although pollen particles can travel out to sea, they’re less likely to cause an allergic reaction the further you get from land, as coastal winds can disperse them quickly. Some cruise ships even have “allergy-friendly” cabins.

Wherever your vacation takes you, be sure to check out the local pollen forecast so you can be prepared.

Fly the Allergy-Friendly Skies

Pet dander, mould spores, dust mites and pollen can board your flight on people’s clothes, shoes, hair and luggage. To help reduce your exposure, wipe down your tray table, arm rests and window area with cleansing wipes and toss them in a sealable bag.

The low humidity levels in airplane cabins may cause dehydration, which may irritate your allergies.1 Drink plenty of water to stay hydrated and pack your allergy meds in case your symptoms act up in the air. Be sure to keep your medication in its original packaging to avoid hassles with the Transportation Security Administration.2

Did you know?
DID YOU KNOW?

Chances are, pet allergens are racking up some frequent flier miles with you—whether there’s a pet in a carrier under the seat beside you or dander hitched a free ride on someone’s clothes or shoes.

Time Your Drive

Some research suggests that pollen particles and air pollution caused by exhaust emissions from vehicles can interact to make allergies worse. To help minimize your exposure, plan your drive early in the morning or late in the evening when traffic is typically lighter. And be sure to keep the A/C on and the windows closed, so hitchhiking pollen spores can’t blow inside.

Find more tips for reducing allergens in your car before you hit the road.

Make No Room at the Inn for Allergens

Call the front desk to check if your hotel has “allergy-friendly” rooms before booking your trip. And be sure to use the air conditioner instead of opening hotel windows to help reduce your exposure to pollen. You can also pack a zippered, dust mite pillow case to cover the hotel’s pillow and limit your exposure to dust mites.

Keep Allergy Medication on Hand

It’s a good idea to keep allergy medication in your purse or backpack, so you’re prepared wherever your travels take you. Non-drowsy Claritin® Rapid Dissolve™ is easy to take without water for allergy symptom relief on the go.

REFERENCES
  1. Sánchez-Borges, Mario & Cardona, Victòria & Worm, Margitta & F. Lockey, Richard & Sheikh, Aziz & Greenberger, Paul & J. Ansotegui, Ignacio & Ebisawa, Motohiro & El-Gamal, Yehia & Fineman, Stanley & Geller, Mario & Gonzalez-Estrada, Alexei & Tanno, Luciana & Thong, Bernard. (2017). In-flight allergic emergencies. World Allergy Organization Journal. 10. 10.1186/s40413-017-0148-1.

  2. Countless Tiny Creatures May Be Travelling for Thanksgiving Right Alongside You. Claritin® Blue Sky Living. Accessed October 15, 2017.

You May Like

Claritin® Allergy

Claritin® -Tablets 24HR

One non-drowsy tablet quickly and effectively relieves allergy symptoms all day.

TabletsTablets
Claritin® Allergy + Sinus  Extra Strength 24 hours

CLARITIN® Allergy + Sinus Extra Strength - 24HR

Just one dose relieves common allergy symptoms, congestion and sinus pressure all day.

TabletsTablet 24HR

Un frère et une sœur jouent dans l'eau, à la plage

Les allergies en voyage

Que vous vous rendiez chez votre grand-mère ou à une destination de rêve dans le Sud, ces conseils tout simples vous aideront à réduire au minimum vos symptômes d’allergies pendant votre voyage.

Conseils sur les allergies en voyage

Pensez à votre destination

Les grandes étendues d’eau, comme l’océan, peuvent réduire votre exposition au pollen, selon les types d’arbres et de graminées avoisinants. Pour vos vacances à la mer, choisissez un endroit qui ne comporte pas de graminées ou d’arbres produisant beaucoup de pollen, comme les mauvaises herbes, le chiendent pied-de-poule ou les chênes.

Les croisières sont aussi un bon choix pour les personnes qui souffrent d’ allergies saisonnières. Les particules de pollen peuvent être transportées au-dessus de la mer. Cependant, plus vous vous éloignez de la côte, moins elles risquent de causer de réaction allergique, car les vents du large peuvent les disperser rapidement. Certains bateaux de croisière ont même des cabines « anti-allergies ».

Peu importe votre destination de vacances, vérifiez les prévisions pollen locales avant de partir.

Vers des cieux plus cléments, sans allergies

Les phanères, d’animaux de compagnie, les spores de moisissure, les acariens de la poussière et le pollen peuvent monter à bord de votre avion sur les vêtements, les souliers, les cheveux et les bagages des autres passagers. Pour réduire votre exposition, essuyez votre plateau, vos accoudoirs et le tour de la fenêtre avec un linge désinfectant, puis jetez-le dans un sac refermable.

Le faible taux d’humidité dans les cabines d’avion peut causer une déshydratation, ce qui pourrait aggraver vos allergies1. Buvez beaucoup d’eau pour vous hydrater et apportez votre médicament contre les allergies au cas où vos symptômes se déclencheraient en vol. Conservez le médicament dans son emballage original pour éviter tout problème à la douane2.

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS?

Il est fort probable que des allergènes d’animaux se trouvent à bord. Un petit animal est peut-être caché dans sa cage sous le siège à côté de vous, ou des phanères se sont peut-être collés aux vêtements ou aux souliers d’autres passagers.

Choisissez bien votre heure de départ

Des études semblent indiquer que les particules de pollen et la pollution de l’air causée par les émissions de gaz d'échappement des voitures peuvent interagir et aggraver les allergies. Pour réduire votre exposition au minimum, partez tôt le matin ou tard le soir, en dehors des heures de pointe. Utilisez l’air conditionné et gardez les fenêtres fermées pour que les spores de pollen ne pénètrent pas dans le véhicule.

Voyez d’autres conseils pour réduire les allergènes dans votre voiture avant de prendre la route.

Réservez une chambre sans allergène

Appelez la réception pour demander si votre hôtel a des chambres « anti-allergies » avant de faire vos réservations. De plus, utilisez l’air conditionné au lieu d’ouvrir les fenêtres pour réduire votre exposition au pollen. Vous pouvez aussi apporter une taie d’oreiller anti-acariens à fermeture éclair pour couvrir l’oreiller de votre chambre d’hôtel et limiter votre exposition aux acariens de la poussière.

Ayez toujours des réserves de votre antihistaminique

Gardez votre médicament contre les allergies (ou antihistaminique) dans votre sac pour l’avoir à votre disposition dès que vous présentez des symptômes. Claritin® ultra-fondantMC sans somnolence est facile à prendre, sans eau, pour un soulagement rapide des symptômes d’allergies, où que vous soyez.

RÉFÉRENCES
  1. Sánchez-Borges, Mario et Cardona, Victòria et Worm, Margitta et F. Lockey, Richard et Sheikh, Aziz et Greenberger, Paul et J. Ansotegui, Ignacio et Ebisawa, Motohiro et El-Gamal, Yehia et Fineman, Stanley et Geller, Mario et Gonzalez-Estrada, Alexei et Tanno, Luciana et Thong, Bernard. (2017). In-flight allergic emergencies. World Allergy Organization Journal. 10. 10.1186/s40413-017-0148-1.

  2. Countless Tiny Creatures May Be Traveling for Thanksgiving Right Alongside You. Claritin® Blue Sky Living. Consulté le 15 octobre 2017.

LES PRODUITS SUIVANTS POURRAIENT VOUS INTÉRESSER

Claritin® - Allergies

Claritin® comprimés – 24 h

Un comprimé sans somnolence soulage rapidement et efficacement les symptômes d’allergies, toute la journée.

ComprimésComprimés
Claritin® Allergies + Sinus Extra fort 24 h

Claritin® Allergies + Sinus Extra fort – 24 h

Une dose soulage les symptômes d’allergies, en plus de la congestion du nez et des sinus causée par les allergies.

ComprimésComprimés