Father and Mother holding daughter's hands in a green field

Allergy Basics

From fluffy kittens to lush lawns to shady trees, some of the most beautiful things out there can make allergy symptoms act up. Find out what causes allergies and what to do about them, so you can enjoy more of the world around you.

What Are Allergies?

In people with allergies, the immune system mistakes a substance that’s ordinarily harmless to most people (substances from pollen, mould, pet dander and dust mites) for something dangerous and attacks it. These normally harmless substances are called allergens.

What Causes Allergy Symptoms?

When you take a breath or rub your nose or eyes, allergens enter your body and your immune system and trigger a hypersensitivity reaction. To get rid of the substance it thinks is harmful, your body undergoes various reactions and releases inflammatory mediators like histamine.

When the histamine binds to receptors on other cells in your body, it causes you to experience allergy symptoms, including runny nose, sneezing, itchy/watery eyes or itchy nose.

Did you know?
DID YOU KNOW?

To rid itself of the allergen, your body undergoes various allergic reactions known as the “allergic cascade.”1 This results in various inflammatory mediators. One of these mediators that is released by the immune system after being exposed to an allergen is histamine. When you inhale an allergen, mast cells release histamine. Histamine then attaches to receptors on nearby blood vessels, causing them to enlarge (dilate). Histamine also binds to other receptors located in nasal tissues, causing swelling, itching and runny nose.

How Claritin® Helps Reduce Allergy Symptoms

Claritin® is an antihistamine so it hinders the cascade triggered by allergens.

How Are Allergies Diagnosed?

Sometimes, it’s easy to guess what you might be allergic to. For example, do you sneeze every time you go into a dusty attic? Or do your symptoms act up every year during ragweed season?

But if you’re not sure what’s causing your symptoms, you can see an allergist to help identify what you’re allergic to—so you know what triggers to avoid. At the appointment, your doctor will:1

  • Take your personal and medical history to help understand your symptoms and their possible causes. It’s a good idea to jot down some notes before your appointment about your family history, lifestyle and potential triggers.
  • Perform a physical exam, paying special attention to your nose, throat, eyes, ears, chest and skin.
  • Conduct a skin test, patch test and/or blood test to help determine what you’re allergic to.

Reducing Your Exposure to Airborne Allergens

In addition to taking Claritin® to relieve symptoms, it’s important to help reduce your exposure to allergy triggers in the first place. You can find simple tips for helping to reduce your exposure to the different indoor and outdoor allergens below.

Outdoor Seasonal Allergies

Outdoor allergies are often called seasonal allergies because they change with the seasons. They’re caused by an overreaction of the immune system to ordinarily harmless allergens found outside, such as mould spores and tree, grass and weed pollens. While these allergens can be difficult to avoid, you can find easy tips to help minimize your exposure so you can enjoy more of the great outdoors.

LEARN MORE ABOUT OUTDOOR SEASONAL ALLERGIES

Indoor Allergies

Indoor allergies are caused by an overreaction of the immune system to allergens from dust mites, pet dander and mould. Indoor allergies can happen any time of the year, but may be more troublesome in the winter when many people spend more time inside. Our simple tips can help you reduce allergy triggers in your home.

LEARN MORE ABOUT INDOOR ALLERGIES
REFERENCES
  1. Allergy Diagnosis. Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America. Accessed November 30, 2017.

You May Like

Claritin® Allergy

Claritin® -Tablets 24HR

One non-drowsy tablet quickly and effectively relieves allergy symptoms all day.

TabletsTablets
Claritin® Allergy + Sinus  Extra Strength 24 hours

CLARITIN® Allergy + Sinus Extra Strength - 24HR

Just one dose relieves common allergy symptoms, congestion and sinus pressure all day.

TabletsTablet 24HR

Un père et une mère tiennent leur fille par la main dans un champ vert

L’ABC des allergies

Les mignons petits chatons, les pelouses luxuriantes, les arbres bien feuillus : certaines des plus belles choses sur Terre peuvent déclencher des symptômes d’allergies. Voyez ce qui cause les allergies et comment les prendre en charge, pour profiter pleinement du monde qui vous entoure.

Qu’est-ce qu’une allergie?

Chez les personnes souffrant d’allergies, le système immunitaire perçoit comme dangereuse une substance normalement inoffensive pour la plupart des gens (provenant du pollen, de moisissures, de phanères d’animaux ou des acariens de la poussière) et l’attaque. Ces substances normalement inoffensives s’appellent des allergènes.

Qu’est-ce qui cause les symptômes d’allergies?

Lorsque vous respirez ou que vous vous frottez le nez ou les yeux, des allergènes pénètrent dans votre organisme, et votre système immunitaire déclenche une réaction d’hypersensibilité. Pour éliminer la substance qu’il perçoit comme nocive, l’organisme réagit de différentes manières et libère des médiateurs inflammatoires comme l’histamine.

Lorsque l’histamine se lie aux récepteurs d’autres cellules de l’organisme, elle provoque des symptômes d’allergies, dont l’écoulement nasal, les éternuements, le picotement des yeux, le larmoiement et les démangeaisons nasales.

Le saviez-vous?
LE SAVIEZ-VOUS?

Pour se débarrasser de l’allergène, l’organisme subit diverses réactions allergiques, appelées « cascade allergique »1, qui entraînent la libération de nombreux médiateurs inflammatoires. L’un de ces médiateurs est l’histamine. Lorsque vous inhalez un allergène, les mastocytes libèrent de l’histamine. Celle-ci se lie ensuite aux récepteurs des vaisseaux sanguins avoisinants, qui enflent (se dilatent). L’histamine se lie aussi à d’autres récepteurs dans les tissus du nez, causant une enflure, des démangeaisons et un écoulement nasal.

Comment Claritin® aide à atténuer les symptômes d’allergies

Claritin® est un antihistaminique , c’est-à-dire qu’il perturbe la cascade déclenchée par les allergènes.

Comment les allergies sont-elles diagnostiquées?

Parfois, la cause d’une allergie est facile à deviner. Par exemple, si vous éternuez chaque fois que vous allez dans un grenier poussiéreux, ou si vos symptômes s’aggravent chaque année pendant la saison de l’herbe à poux.

Toutefois, lorsque la cause est incertaine, vous pouvez consulter un allergologue pour tenter d’identifier les allergènes qui déclenchent vos symptômes, afin de les éviter. Lors de votre visite, le médecin1:

  • vous demandera quels sont vos antécédents personnels et médicaux pour mieux comprendre vos symptômes et leurs causes possibles. Pour vous préparer à ce rendez-vous, prenez des notes sur vos antécédents familiaux, votre mode de vie et les allergènes potentiels;
  • effectuera un examen physique, en accordant une attention particulière à votre nez, à votre gorge, à vos yeux, à vos oreilles, à votre poitrine et à votre peau;
  • fera un test cutané, un test épicutané ou une analyse de sang pour mieux cerner la cause de vos allergies.

Réduire l’exposition aux allergènes en suspension dans l’air

En plus de prendre Claritin® pour soulager vos symptômes, il est important de réduire votre exposition aux allergènes. Les conseils ci-dessous vous aideront à réduire votre exposition aux divers allergènes intérieurs et extérieurs.

Allergies saisonnières causées par des allergènes extérieurs

Les allergènes extérieurs causent ce qu’on appelle les allergies saisonnières , car ils changent d’une saison à l’autre. Ces allergies sont causées par une réaction excessive du système immunitaire à des allergènes extérieurs normalement inoffensifs, tels que les spores de moisissures et le pollen des arbres, des graminées et des mauvaises herbes. Ces allergènes sont parfois difficiles à éviter. Voici quelques conseils pour vous aider à réduire votre exposition à ces allergènes, afin de profiter pleinement de vos activités extérieures.

PLUS D’INFO SUR LES ALLERGIES SAISONNIÈRES CAUSÉES PAR LES ALLERGÈNES EXTÉRIEURS

Allergies causées par des allergènes intérieurs

Ces allergies sont déclenchées par une réaction excessive du système immunitaire à des allergènes d’acariens de la poussière, de phanères d’animaux et de moisissures. Elles peuvent survenir en tout temps, mais sont souvent plus présentes l’hiver, car les gens passent en général plus de temps à l’intérieur. Nos conseils peuvent vous aider à réduire les allergènes dans votre maison.

PLUS D’INFO SUR LES ALLERGIES CAUSÉES PAR LES ALLERGÈNES INTÉRIEURS
RÉFÉRENCES
  1. Allergy Diagnosis. Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America. Consulté le 30 novembre 2017.

LES PRODUITS SUIVANTS POURRAIENT VOUS INTÉRESSER

Claritin® - Allergies

Claritin® comprimés – 24 h

Un comprimé sans somnolence soulage rapidement et efficacement les symptômes d’allergies, toute la journée.

ComprimésComprimés
Claritin® Allergies + Sinus Extra fort 24 h

Claritin® Allergies + Sinus Extra fort – 24 h

Une dose soulage les symptômes d’allergies, en plus de la congestion du nez et des sinus causée par les allergies.

ComprimésComprimés