Switch Language

Managing Children’s Allergies

Allergies are no fun for kids or their parents. Find simple allergy tips to help your family keep symptoms in check.

Divider

Overview

An  allergy  is an exaggerated reaction of your child’s  immune system  to otherwise harmless substances, like those from  pollen dust mites , pet dander and  mould . When your kid comes into contact with these  allergen  sources, his or her body confuses them with a harmful substance and attacks them by releasing  histamine  into the body, which causes allergy symptoms in kids.

Whether they’re at home, school, a friend’s house or soccer practice, it’s impossible for kids to completely avoid indoor and outdoor seasonal allergens. But there are ways to help minimize their exposure to common allergy triggers and manage their symptoms so your little sniffler can spend more time playing and less time sneezing.

CHILDREN'S ALLERGY SYMPTOMS

outlined runny nose
RUNNY NOSE
itchy, watery eyes icon
ITCHY, WATERY EYES
outlined nose sneezing
SNEEZING
outline of an itchy nose or throat
ITCHY NOSE OR THROAT
illustration of nasal decongestion
NASAL CONGESTION
An outline of a cloud

Fast relief from Seasonal Kids Allergies

Allergy Medicine such as Claritin® for Kids provide fast and effective non-drowsy relief from seasonal allergy symptoms including runny nose, sneezing, itchy and water eyes, and itchy nose.

For children 2-12 years of age, Claritin Kids® Rapid Dissolve or Claritin Kids® Syrup may be used for fast relief from kids’ seasonal allergy symptoms.

To be sure these products are right for your child, always read and follow the label. Consult your doctor or pharmacist if you need help choosing the right product for your child.

Tips for Keeping Kids' Allergies in Check

It Takes a Village

Between going to school, having play dates with friends or spending the night at grandma’s house, there are lots of places your kids go that may seem outside your control. Get everyone who has regular contact with your child involved by talking about your kid’s allergies and letting them know what they can do to help.

Wash Away Allergens

Kids may not remember to tell you they were exposed to allergy triggers—from petting the bunny at school or rolling in the leaves at a friend’s house. To help reduce allergen exposure, have them make it a habit of washing their faces and hands when they come home.1

Open Up

It’s important to talk openly with your kids about what may trigger allergies so they know what to look out for and avoid—from dust in classrooms to their best friend’s cat.

Sleep Smart

Allergy symptoms can affect sleep, cause daytime fatigue and impact school performance. Make sure your child is getting the rest they need to help them be at their best. Then, do the same for yourself!

Conquer the Great Outdoors

From climbing trees to rolling in the grass, allergens from pollen and mould can make outdoor fun no fun at all for kids with allergies. Find simple tips for managing outdoor allergies so your little one can enjoy more of the great outdoors.

Give Indoor Allergies the Boot

From home to school to GRANDMA’S house, get easy tips for managing your child’s indoor allergies to dust mites , pet dander and mould.

REFERENCES

  1. Allergy Prevention Tips. Accessed February 9, 2018.

YOU MAY LIKE

Claritin® Kids Syrup 24HR

Claritin® Kids Syrup - 24HR

This non-drowsy syrup has a great taste and is free of lactose, alcohol and dye.

Switch Language

Prendre en charge les allergies chez les enfants

Les allergies ne sont pas une partie de plaisir, ni pour les enfants ni pour leurs parents. Voici quelques conseils pour mieux maîtriser les symptômes d’allergies.

Divider

Survol

Une allergie est une réaction exagérée du système immunitaire à des substances normalement inoffensives, telles que le pollen , les acariens de la poussière , les phanères d’animaux et la moisissure. Lorsque l’enfant entre en contact avec ces allergènes, son organisme les confond avec une substance nocive et les attaque en libérant de l’ histamine , ce qui cause des symptômes d’allergie.

Que ce soit à la maison, à l’école, chez ses amis ou durant son entraînement de soccer, votre enfant ne peut éviter complètement les allergènes intérieurs ou extérieurs. Par contre, on peut réduire son exposition aux allergènes courants et prendre en charge ses symptômes, pour qu’il puisse passer moins de temps à se moucher et plus de temps à jouer

SYMPTÔMES D’ALLERGIES CHEZ LES ENFANTS

Contour d’un nez qui coule
ÉCOULEMENT NASAL
Icône de picotement des yeux et larmoiement
PICOTEMENT DES YEUX ET LARMOIEMENT
Contour d’un nez qui éternue
ÉTERNUEMENTS
Contour d’un nez ou d’une gorge qui démange
PICOTEMENTS DU NEZ OU DE LA GORGE
Illustration de décongestion nasale
CONGESTION NASALE
Contour d’un nuage

Soulagement rapide des allergies saisonnières chez les enfants

Les médicaments contre les allergies tels que Claritin® pour enfants procurent un soulagement rapide et efficace des symptômes d’allergies saisonnières, notamment l’écoulement nasal, les éternuements, le picotement des yeux, le larmoiement et le picotement du nez.

Chez les enfants de 2 à 12 ans, Claritin® pour enfants Ultra-fondants ou le sirop Claritin® pour enfants peuvent être utilisés pour soulager rapidement les symptômes d’allergies saisonnières.

Pour savoir si ces produits conviennent à votre enfant, lisez toujours les étiquettes et suivez les modes d’emploi. Consultez votre médecin ou votre pharmacien si vous avez besoin d’aide pour choisir le produit qui convient à votre enfant.

Conseils pour maîtriser les allergies de votre enfant

Suscitez la participation de tous

Vous ne pouvez pas contrôler ce qui se passe à l’école, chez les amis de votre enfant ou chez ses grands-parents. Expliquez aux personnes qui sont régulièrement en contact avec votre enfant en quoi consistent ses allergies et ce qu’elles peuvent faire pour l’aider.

Dites à votre enfant de se laver les mains

Votre enfant risque d’oublier de vous dire qu’il a été exposé à des allergènes, par exemple en caressant un lapin à l’école ou en jouant dans les feuilles chez un ami. Pour réduire son exposition aux allergènes, dites-lui de se laver le visage et les mains chaque fois qu’il rentre à la maison1.

N’hésitez pas à aborder le sujet

Il est important de parler ouvertement avec votre enfant de ce qui pourrait déclencher ses allergies pour qu’il sache quoi éviter, que ce soit la poussière dans sa classe ou le chat de son meilleur ami.

Veillez à ce qu’il dorme bien

Les symptômes d’allergie peuvent nuire au sommeil, causer de la fatigue pendant la journée et avoir une incidence sur les résultats scolaires. Veillez à ce que votre enfant dorme suffisamment, et vous aussi!

Partez à la conquête du monde extérieur

Grimper aux arbres et se rouler dans l’herbe n’est pas amusant du tout quand les allergènes du pollen et de la moisissure déclenchent des allergies. Voici quelques conseils pour prendre en charge les allergies de votre enfant causées par des allergènes extérieurs et lui permettre de jouer dehors en toute quiétude.

Chassez les allergies causées par les allergènes intérieurs

Voici quelques conseils pour prendre en charge les allergies causées par des allergènes intérieurs, soit acariens de la poussière , phanères d’animaux et moisissure, à la maison, à l’école ou chez GRAND-MAMAN.

RÉFÉRENCES

  1. Allergy Prevention Tips. Consulté le 9 février 2018.

LES PRODUITS SUIVANTS POURRAIENT VOUS INTÉRESSER

Sirop Claritin® pour enfants – 24 h

Sirop Claritin® pour
enfants – 24 h

Ce sirop sans somnolence a une délicieuse saveur et ne contient ni lactose, ni alcool, ni colorant.